Duplicate client records can arise in WorkflowMax when:
- a duplicate (or near duplicate) client record is created accidentally
- two companies merge
- there is an issue when importing clients.
Quotes and jobs can then be created against the duplicate, potentially causing confusion. To resolve this problem, you can merge the duplicate client with the original client (the term "master client" is sometimes used to refer to the original client).
Merging clients does not actually copy any client data. All that happens is that data records that refer to the duplicate client are changed to refer to the original client. The duplicate client is then deleted.
The following types of data records will be updated to use the original client name during the client merge:
- Client notes
- Client documents
Potential for data loss
When the merge takes place, data stored in the original client's record takes priority over the data stored in the duplicate client record, which may be lost. So, if the duplicate client record contains data that you wish to retain after the merge, make sure that you set up that data in the original client record before you perform the merge.
Data fields that you might need to review and possibly set up include:
- Client type
- Account Manager
- Job Manager
- Phone, address, email, and
- Any custom fields.
To merge one client with another:
- In the main menu, select Clients.
- Drill down on the name of the client you wish to delete (this is the duplicate client).
- On the client information screen, open the Notes or Documents tab.
- Select Options > Merge Client.
- On the Merge Client screen, select the client you wish to merge the duplicate client with (this is the original or master client).
Confirmation is not required – the client will be merged and the duplicate deleted immediately.