When you add a new supplier to WorkflowMax, it's possible to accidentally create a duplicate (or near duplicate) of an existing supplier. Purchase orders and costs can then be created against the duplicate, potentially causing confusion. To resolve this problem, you can merge the duplicate supplier with the original supplier.
Merging suppliers does not actually copy any supplier data. All that happens is that data records that refer to the duplicate supplier are changed to refer to the original supplier. The duplicate supplier is then deleted. The following types of data records will be updated during the supplier merge:
- Purchase orders
- Purchase order receipts
- Supplier contacts
- Supplier notes
- Supplier documents
To merge one supplier with another:
- In the Business menu, select the Suppliers > Suppliers tab.
- Search for and then drill down on the name of the supplier you wish to delete.
- On the supplier information screen, select Options > Merge Supplier.
- On the Merge Supplier screen, select the destination supplier for the merged details.
Confirmation is not required – the supplier will be merged and deleted immediately.