The following error occurs because the document management application is unable to access the parent folder chosen to store documents for WorkflowMax.
Does the error affect a specific user or all users?
The error may apply to a specific user or apply to all users, depending on the cause.
Specific user only
The error will occur for a specific user if:
- For Box/Google Drive/Dropbox users. The folder has not been shared with them. For example if user A enables Document Management using Box account A and selects the folder “WorkflowMax files” as the parent folder, then user B must also have access to the “WorkflowMax files” folder within Box account A. This folder must be shared with them if they are accessing it via a different Box account. Once the folder is shared with them the issue will be resolved.
- For Google Drive users only. The folder has been shared with the user but they haven’t moved it to “My Drive”. Once the user moves the folder to “My Drive” the issue will be resolved.
- The user’s access to the folder has been revoked (it is no longer shared with them). If the folder is shared again the issue will be resolved or the user can use the Reconnect button to connect to a different account.
- The DMS account the user was connected to for Document Management is no longer valid (it could have been deactivated or deleted). They can use the Reconnect button to connect to a different account.
- The user has connected to the “wrong” DMS account where they do not have access to the folder. They can use the Reconnect button to connect to a different DMS account.
The error will occur for all users if:
- The parent folder is moved or renamed after enabling Document Management. Undoing the change will resolve the issue.
- The Dropbox Team Spaces option is enabled after enabling Document Management. Moving the shared folder into the shared team space will resolve the issue.
- How to move the shared folder
When you first set up the Dropbox integration in WorkflowMax, you need to specify a folder in Dropbox to use to store your WorkflowMax documents in. Once selected, this folder will be available on the Documents tab for all WorkflowMax jobs, clients, quotes and suppliers. The folder will be shared between all users in your WorkflowMax account.
When setting up the integration, the location of the shared folder will depend on whether or not you have the Team Spaces option enabled in your Dropbox account.
If your company is using Dropbox Business Edition with Team Spaces disabled, the folder will appear in the top level of your personal Dropbox folder.
If your company is using Dropbox Business Edition with Team Spaces enabled, the folder needs to be located at the top level in your shared Dropbox account.
If you originally set up your Dropbox integration with Team Spaces disabled and have then enabled the Team Spaces option, you will need to move the folder from the personal folder level to the top level in your Dropbox account. Whenever you open the Document Management screen, WorkflowMax will display the parent folder access error (see above) until the folder has been moved.
We recommend that the person who owns the shared folder follows these steps to move the folder to the correct location and avoid any permissions issues.
- Log in to your Dropbox account.
- Move the shared folder from the personal level into the team space level in your Dropbox account.
- Accept the warning message that says the folder will be shared with everyone in the team. (Note: there is more flexibility available via Dropbox Admin Console to control access within your team members).
WorkflowMax will automatically recognise the new location of the folder. Any existing documents in the folder will be visible in the Documents folders of jobs, clients, quotes and suppliers, as before.
- How to move the shared folder
- The WORKFLOWMAX_DO_NOT_DELETE..... configuration file has been modified, deleted, renamed or moved. This file is used by WorkflowMax to ensure that your document folder on the DMS can be accessed by all valid users. The best way to resolve a problem with this file is to disable and then re-enable Document Management.
- The account used to enable Document Management is no longer valid (it could have been deactivated or deleted). Document Management will need to be disabled and re-enabled using a valid account.
- For Suite Files users only. You will get this error only if you have connected using the wrong Suite Files URL. This happens if you have connected to a different Suite Files site to the one chosen (logged into) when Document Management was enabled. To resolve the problem, you will need to re-connect to the correct Suite Files site.